Alone

Photo by Flavio Spugna via Flickr (CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

Photo by Flavio Spugna via Flickr
(CC BY-NC-ND 2.0)

You came into the world,
Welcomed with open arms,
I was an accident, a mistake,
And began my life alone.

You were taught family’s importance,
That they’ll always be by your side,
I was begged to be “normal,”
So I built my dreams and hopes alone.

You are lucky to know friendship,
From people always glad to lend an ear,
I was taught to be silent,
And still must suffer my feelings alone.

You have someone to hold you,
Someone that warms your side at night,
I sleep in solitude, hug my pillow,
And cry myself to sleep alone.

You’ll die surrounded by loved ones,
With your hand held as you move on,
I’ll pass on before my time,
At my hand, I’ll die as I lived, alone.

They say the death of one is a tragedy,
Is the death of over 800,000 is just a statistic?
For how can so many feel at peace,
When so many feel alone?


“Alone. Yes, that’s the key word, the most awful word in the English tongue. Murder doesn’t hold a candle to it and hell is only a poor synonym.” – Stephen King

Let me assure my readers that I did NOT write this because I am suicidal. I simply wanted to give you all perspective, as I do in many of my works. The World Health Organization states than over 800,000 people commit suicide worldwide a year. The most prevalent cause of suicide is depression. While many will argue that the best course of action for depression is medication (and while I do not deny that certain medications in certain conditions can be helpful), sometimes a person’s outlook can change if one person, just ONE person, makes the effort to sit down and listen. It won’t change the bad things that have happened. It won’t fix everything. But when a person feels overwhelmed, if they have someone they can confide in, someone that he/she knows actually cares about him/her enough to listen to the struggles, that person will feel less alone. That person knows that he/she matters to someone. When a person has no one to confide in (mind you having people around does NOT mean one has someone to truly confide in), that person’s depression or hopelessness will become exacerbated. Sometimes people don’t watch those around them carefully enough, or are so concerned with themselves that they overlook what is blatantly obvious. This is not to say that a person’s suicide is the fault of those around him/her, but it is an encouragement for others to take time out of their busy lives to listen to those they care about instead of half-heartedly nodding along or tuning them out. Those that feel depressed or suicidal are encouraged to speak their mind, not hold it in, but depression and suicide are still stigmatized subjects that few want to talk about. Why would people talk about something they feel no one wants to hear? Don’t we realize that brushing these subjects off in turn makes these people feel as if they themselves are being pushed to the side? Just hiding or ignoring the problem does not make anything go away, except the people we love. Suicide prevention does not start just when you pull a person back from the brink of death. It can start at a much simpler, human level. Start listening, not just hearing. You never know how much it could mean to that person.

SUICIDE HELP HOTLINES AND WEBSITES: For those that feel they have no one else to turn to, it is NOT too late. There are people that will listen, and the only way that things will truly never change is if you end your life. Please, if you are contemplating suicide, STOP, and call a suicide prevention hotline or visit a suicide prevention website.

US:

1-800-SUICIDE
(1-800-784-2433)

1-800-273-TALK
(1-800-273-8255)

http://www.suicidepreventionlifeline.org/

UK:

Samaritans: (08457 90 90 90)

http://www.nhs.uk/Conditions/Suicide/Pages/Getting-help.aspx

International:

http://www.suicide.org/international-suicide-hotlines.html

16 thoughts on “Alone

    • Thank you, I believe people should be very engaged with the way their loved ones feel, especially when it comes to this subject. I know it is a touchy subject and I tried to handle it with tact, but it is not a subject we should hide away in the dark corners of life. We can’t find a solution if we don’t know the problem.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Thank you. This is so true. Someone quite close to me was in such a dark place for a while, lost everything and didn’t see a way out. It only helped to take that person out of their normal surroundings and show how to start over again. It did really help! She’s getting better every day and it’s really beautiful to see how much she’s changing. Of course there’s still a lot to work on, but all it matters that it’s getting better. Don’t you think information like that, support and hotlines should be known to everyone? I think everyone should know at least where to find that information the same way almost everyone knows a bit of first aid. 😉
    Happy blogging 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • You are welcome. I am sorry to hear that someone you are close to had to go through such a hard time, but I am glad to hear that she is doing better. Sometimes all it takes is to break the cycle of negativity. To let someone know that yes, people DO care. I think everyone should know how to find the information, and I think that the best way to help promote the knowledge is to stop the stigma placed on depression and other imbalances and on those that feel suicidal. We need to stop being so uncomfortable talking about it as a society, because that is what people need, to talk about it. I hope that the more people share their stories and their concern, the more people will be able and willing to reach out. The next phase is for the rest of us to be there to grab their hand when they do reach out.
      Thank you for your comment, and happy blogging to you! Give your friend my best regards on her way to recovery!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

